School Standards

North Star Montessori adheres to the principles of the Montessori Philosophy and Method as set out by Maria Montessori. As the Montessori name cannot be copyrighted or patented, it is possible for any school to call itself a Montessori school. North Star follows the guidelines set forth by AMI and is accredited by the CCMA. North Star also meets the policy and curriculum requirements of the BC Ministry of Education and Independent School Board. North Star is a member of the Federation of Independent Schools Association.

Authentic Montessori

North Star is equipped with a complete set of authentic Montessori learning materials in each classroom and adheres to the method and philosophy developed by Dr. Maria Montessori. The school believes that the Montessori Method cannot be compromised and our goal is to provide a Montessori curriculum that is integrated and sequential. Our integrated curriculum includes all core subjects as well as art, music, second language studies and Physical Education.

North Star offers multi-aged groupings, which is a fundamental feature of the Montessori Method. These groupings relate directly to the Planes of Development and are as follows:

  • Casa (preschool):3-6 years old
  • Lower Elementary: 6-9 years old
  • Upper Elementary: 9-12 years old

Each classroom is carefully prepared to meet the developmental needs of the children, academically, socially and emotionally, in each Plane of Development. This fosters independence, self-motivation, creativity, critical thinking, self-expression, cooperation, collaboration, respect and awareness of the world in which we live both locally and globally, while allowing each child to construct his or her own unique self.

Each child progresses through the curriculum at his/her own pace and is given freedom within the Montessori framework to choose their work independently throughout long blocks of uninterrupted learning time.

All Head Teachers have Montessori teacher-training by a recognized training facility.


The Canadian Council of Montessori Administrators (CCMA) is a legally registered Canadian, not-for-profit corporation founded in 1977 to support Canadian Montessori administrators. The Council provides a unified voice in negotiations with government and other agencies. It also serves as a source of knowledge and expertise in Montessori school administration.

Members are accountable to the CCMA for ensuring that programs meet the standards and criteria established by the Council.

The CCMA recognizes teacher training institutes that meet the standards of the Association Montessori Internationale (AMI), and the Montessori Accreditation Council of Teacher Education (MACTE).

CCMA Schools:

  • Are licensed by the appropriate provincial licensing authorities
  • Meet the relevant Building, Health, Safety and Fire codes and carry appropriate insurance
  • Are guided by the educational philosophy of Dr. Maria Montessori
  • Agree to abide by the CCMA Code of Ethics

The vision of the CCMA is to promote standards of excellence for Canadian Montessori educators and programs to help children reach their full potential.

Ministry of Education

North Star adheres to the requirements of the Independent School Act and is a Group 1 funded school.  It therefore meets the curriculum requirements set forth by the provincial Ministry of Education.  Due to the focus on learning at one’s own pace and the elementary program being sectioned into lower (years 1-3) and upper elementary (years 4-7), students are able to work through the Provincial curriculum at their own pace over the course of each level of the program.  Therefore, students may move through the Provincial curriculum at their own pace, even working beyond their age/grade level or taking more time where necessary.